Mon, 19 Sept

|

Online event

In Conversation: Moon-Ho Jung and Julie Greene

Join Moon-Ho Jung, author of Menace to Empire, in conversation with Julie Greene about his new book exploring colonial violence and anticolonial rage from across the Pacific between the Philippine-American War and World War II

In Conversation: Moon-Ho Jung and Julie Greene

Time & Location

19 Sept, 17:00 – 18:10 GMT-4

Online event

About the Event

This history reveals how radical threats to the United States empire became seditious threats to national security and exposes the antiradical and colonial origins of anti-Asian racism.  Menace to Empire transforms familiar themes in American history. This profoundly ambitious history of race and empire traces both the colonial violence and the anticolonial rage that the United States spread across the Pacific between the Philippine-American War and World War II. Moon-Ho Jung argues that the US national security state as we know it was born out of attempts to repress and silence anticolonial subjects, from the Philippines and Hawaiʻi to California and beyond.   Jung examines how various revolutionary movements spanning the Pacific confronted the US empire. In response, the US state closely monitored and brutally suppressed those movements, exaggerating fears of pan-Asian solidarities and sowing anti-Asian racism. Radicalized by their opposition to the US empire and racialized as threats to US security, peoples in and from Asia pursued a revolutionary politics that engendered and haunted the national security state—the heart and soul of the US empire ever since.

Join author Moon-Ho Jung in conversation with Julie Greene

Moon-Ho Jung is Professor of History at the University of Washington.

Julie Greene is Professor of History at the University of Maryland at College Park.

Washington D. C. 5:00 pm

Seattle 2:00 pm

Honolulu 11:00 am

Sydney 7:00 am

Manila 5:00 am 

11:00 pm Johannesburg

10:00 pm London

Share This Event