Thu, 27 Jan

|

Zoom series

In Conversation: Manuel Barcia and Beatriz Mamigonian on The Yellow Demon of Fever (Yale 2020)

As the slave trade brought Europeans, Africans, and Americans into contact, diseases were traded along with human lives. Manuel Barcia discusses his award-winning new book with Beatriz Mamigonian.

Registration is closed
See other events
In Conversation: Manuel Barcia and Beatriz Mamigonian on The Yellow Demon of Fever (Yale 2020)

Time & Location

27 Jan, 20:00 – 21:10 GMT

Zoom series

About the Event

As the slave trade brought Europeans, Africans, and Americans into contact, diseases were traded along with human lives. Manuel Barcia examines the battle waged against disease, where traders fought against loss of profits while enslaved Africans fought for survival. Although efforts to control disease and stop epidemics from spreading brought little success, the medical knowledge generated by people on both sides of the conflict contributed to momentous change in the medical cultures of the Atlantic world. The Yellow Demon of Fever is the winner of the Paul E. Lovejoy Prize, sponsored by The Journal of Global Slavery.

Manuel Barcia is Chair of Global History at the University of Leeds, in the United Kingdom.

Beatriz Mamigonian is Professor of History at the Universidade Federal de Santa Catarina, Brazil.

Meeting times:

12:00 noon Los Angeles

3:00 pm New York

5:00 pm Rio de Janeiro

8:00 pm London 

9:00 pm Vienna

10:00 pm Johannesburg 

11:00 pm Doha 

4:00 am + 1 day Shanghai 

7:00 am +1 day Melbourne

Share This Event