Tue, 13 Dec

|

Online event

In Conversation: Daniel Foliard and Susie Protschky

The late nineteenth century saw a rapid increase in colonial conflicts throughout the French and British empires. It was also the period in which the camera began to be widely available. Join Daniel Foliard in conversation with Susie Protschky about the violence of colonial photography

In Conversation: Daniel Foliard and Susie Protschky

Time & Location

13 Dec, 21:00 – 22:15 CET

Online event

About the Event

The late nineteenth century saw a rapid increase in colonial conflicts throughout the French and British empires. It was also the period in which the camera began to be widely available. Colonial authorities were quick to recognise the power of this new technology, which they used to humiliate defeated opponents and to project an image of supremacy across the world. Drawing on a wealth of visual materials, from soldiers’ personal albums to the collections of press agencies and government archives, this book offers a new account of how conflict photography developed in the decades leading up to the First World War. It explores the various ways in which the camera was used to impose order on subject populations in Africa and Asia and to generate propaganda for the public in Europe, where a visual economy of violence was rapidly taking shape. At the same time, it reveals how photographs could escape the intentions of their creators, offering a means for colonial subjects to push back against oppression.

Join author Daniel Foliard in conversation with Susie Protschky about The Violence of Colonial Photography (forthcoming, Manchester University Press).

Daniel Foliard is Professor of English Studies at Université de Paris.

Susie Protschky is Senior Lecturer in the History Department at Monash University (Australia).

9:00 pm Paris

3:00 pm New York

2:00 pm Mexico City

10:00 pm Johannesburg 

4:00 am + 1 day Shanghai

7:00 am +1 day Sydney

Share This Event